Love is Just Love


Love is love. Who are we to begrudge people who are in a loving committed relationship the opportunity to marry and take advantage of the opportunities afforded everyone else? For that matter who are we to deny or judge anyone who wants to take on the challenge of marriage? I’ve met a lot of hetero couples that don’t have a clue what they’re getting into yet we smile and toast them with champagne and nod approvingly, congratulating them with dollar dances and wedding gifts they’ll never use.

I’ve met some really exceptional same sex couples who are kind, respectful, loving, committed and completely prepared to spend the rest of their lives together yet much of society looks upon them as pariahs, individuals without the simple right to live together legally. This is not the world I wanted to send my child out into. My hope is that my child’s children will only read about this in history books as an anomaly. Love should know no gender, color or nationality, it should be pure and real and strong. It should be between two people and no one should have the right to decide whether their choice is acceptable.

COME live with me and be my Love,
And we will all the pleasures prove
That hills and valleys, dales and fields,
Or woods or steepy mountain yields.

And we will sit upon the rocks,
And see the shepherds feed their flocks
By shallow rivers, to whose falls
Melodious birds sing madrigals.

And I will make thee beds of roses
And a thousand fragrant posies;
A cap of flowers, and a kirtle
Embroider’d all with leaves of myrtle.

A gown made of the finest wool
Which from our pretty lambs we pull;
Fair-linèd slippers for the cold,
With buckles of the purest gold.

A belt of straw and ivy-buds
With coral clasps and amber studs:
And if these pleasures may thee move,
Come live with me and be my Love.

The shepherd swains shall dance and sing
For thy delight each May morning:
If these delights thy mind may move,
Then live with me and be my Love.

Christopher Marlowe

This entry was posted in Ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

