I don’t know everything


These are the things that I do know …

I am a person of worth.

I have people in my life who love me for who I am right now.

I do not need to change to be who anyone else wants me to be as long as I’m happy with who I am.

I am a loving, caring person no matter what anyone else might think.

It’s okay for me to talk about my feelings, the events in my life and the people I care about.  This does not make me selfish or self involved.  It is who I am and it’s not fair for people to ask me to change that.

I am a good friend and a good listener and I have a great core group of people who tell me that all the time.  One person’s condemnation does not change all of those endorsements. 

I can’t please everyone so I just have to work on making myself happy.

I have disappointed a lot of people and I will disappoint more before this life is over.

I have to want to change in order to do so but first I have to feel like the change is warranted. 

I can change temporarily but then I forget and go back to being me.  The thing is though, I don’t think who I am is such a bad thing.

Sometimes I make mistakes but so does everyone else.  My mistakes don’t give anyone else permission to make me feel bad about myself.

Just because someone doesn’t like something about me doesn’t mean it’s wrong.

It’s okay for me to expect to be treated fairly and it’s just as okay for me to demand respect. 

You don’t have to like me but that doesn’t give you license to dis-respect me. 

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.  Why is that such a hard thing to get my arms around?

I am a person of worth, no matter what anyone else might tell me.

There is nothing wrong with getting angry if the situation warrants it.  I need to stop feeling guilty for expressing my true feelings and stop worrying what other people will think of me if I stand up for myself.

Just because someone loves you doesn’t mean they have to like you.  Another tough pill to swallow.

There are people in my life that love me no matter what and aren’t afraid to tell me that.  Most of them like me too.

I am a person of worth and no one can or should try to take that away from me … no one.

This entry was posted in Ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

