What do I want from you?


Accept me for who I am

Love me unconditionally

Embrace me as I am and stop constantly looking for ways to fix me

Stop punishing me when things don’t go as you think they should but instead talk through them with me

Be yourself and allow your vulnerabilities to show knowing that I would never use those vulnerabilities against you

Trust me

Respect me

Be there for me the same way I always try to be there for you

Try to understand me and my opinions on things rather than try convincing me I’m wrong

Want to spend quality time with me

I want to laugh with you and do silly things occasionally that no one but us would enjoy

I want to make memories with you

I want us to continue to have “our place” and have it mean as much to you as it does to me

Tell me when I talk too much rather than wait until it makes you so angry you strike out and we hurt each other

Listen when I express concerns about you and not just blow them off as my over-reaction

Stop assuming that I’m lying because people (even me) have lied to you in the past

Get to know me … the real me, not the image of me you have conjured

Relax and just learn to be with another person who has no ulterior motive

Accept the fact that you are special to me just the way you are

Know … really know … that I love you

Forgive me for not being the person you expected me to be

Be honest with me about your feelings and don’t be afraid to say “Stop that’s enough!”

Accept the fact that I am a flawed and imperfect person

Stop worrying that the things you say to me will be used later to hurt you, I am not that person

Take very good care of yourself so we are in each others lives for a long time

Try to stop cutting me out of your world when you don’t like the way things are going

Stop being afraid of me or my reactions, I am not a volcano waiting to erupt

Stop telling me that I’m not allowed to have real emotional responses to things that make me angry or sad or frustrated

Accept that I am a passionate person, overly analytical at times and prone to react emotionally to things that you have no opinion about – right or wrong I am who I am

Let me be who I am and don’t try to “fix” me

Be happy to see me

Tell me if something I’ve said or done has upset you, don’t wait until it’s too late to talk through it

I want us to be there for each other “through thick and thin” because we want to not because someone said we should be

Listen respectfully when we don’t agree – we are allowed to have differing opinions

Accept that when I say “I’m sorry” I really mean it and I will try to do the same for you

Stop stiffening up when I hug you, it’s incredibly hurtful

Be happy to see me and tell me that occasionally

I want you to tell me you love me when no one is listening

This entry was posted in Ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

