Cream cheese avocado chicken


I tried an experiment today with some stuff I needed to get rid of and it worked out great.  I put a 1/2 brick of weight watchers cream cheese in a saucepan with 2 avocados and about 1/2 C of water stirring it all until it was melted and blended.  In a separate pan I sauteed some minced garlic, red onion, 1 green pepper and 1 red bell pepper in a little bit of safflower oil just until soft adding a finely chopped tomato for the last few minutes just to sweat it.  I poured that into the sauce, adding a few chopped jarred jalapenos, about a tbsp of dried cilantro and a tbsp of coriander.  I let all that simmer for fifteen minutes or so and then added 3 C of chopped pre-cooked chicken breast to the sauce and let that simmer for about a 1/2 hour more.  I sprayed a shallow corning dish with non-stick cooking spray and lined it with 2 1/2 flour tortillas.  I poured half the chicken sauce over the layered tortillas and then created another layer of tortillas and sauce and at the last minute sprinkled a tbsp or smoked sweet paprika and a tbsp of black pepper over the surface.  I also sprinkled a little bit of my favorite greek seasonings across the top of the casserole before I put it in the oven to give it a little bit of color.  I covered the mixture with aluminum foil and put it in a 325 oven for thirty minutes, uncovering it for the last ten.

It was very flavorful and not too bad for you either.  I guess it makes about 4-6 servings.

  • 1/2 brick weight watchers cream cheese
  • 2 avocados
  • 1/2 C water
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • One 1/2 red onion
  • 2 tbsp chopped jalapeno peppers
  • 1 large roma tomato
  • 1 tbsp dried cilantro
  • 1 tbsp coriander
  • 3 C chicken breasts
  • 5 flour tortillas
  • non-stick spray
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp greek seasonings

Bake in a 325 oven for half an hour, uncovering it for the last ten minutes.  It’s not really cheesy and it doesn’t create a crust or anything, it’s just a healthier option to some of my favorite chicken enchilada recipes.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cream cheese avocado chicken

  1. Stacey says:

    Sounds awesome. Makes me hungry for Mexican though!

Leave a Reply

