Serendipity


Phone rings once … twice … three times …

“Hello! What?” answered in a raspy sleep logged voice

“He didn’t call”

“Oh … hi”

“Did you hear me? He didn’t call.”

“Yeah … I heard you, I heard you”

“Well? Look I know you hate him but can’t you try to be supportive?”

“Stop okay? Don’t say that. I don’t hate him. It’s just …”

“Just what? Why is this happening to me?”

“Well sweetie it’s not happening to you really is it? I mean … well what I mean is … oh forget it you’ll just get mad.”

“No I want to hear what you have to say, just be honest I can take it.”

“Well it’s not really whether you can take it or not I guess. Okay maybe it is. Here’s the thing, he’s not a bad guy and I don’t hate him I just hate him with you. Does that make sense?”

“No … well okay yeah maybe a little. But I just knew he was going to call last night and he didn’t call. He really didn’t call.” long pause and a soft sigh ending in a small hiccup drenched in shed and unshed tears. “It is over isn’t it? It’s really over.”

“Wasn’t it over six weeks ago when he ended it sweetie?”

“Well yes technically it was then but he had all these plans for my birthday and it’s not like he’s seeing anyone else. I just thought he would call on my birthday.”

“Okay wait … how do you know he isn’t seeing anyone?”

“Facebook, duh!”

“Oh … yes … of course, Facebook.”

“Oh don’t say it with that tone of voice just because you don’t get it doesn’t mean it’s not worth anyone’s time. I get to catch up with all of my friends and…”

“Stop stop you’re spiraling I wasn’t saying anything about Facebook, God calm down okay? All I was trying to say with my ‘tone’ was that you should probably try to avoid looking at his Facebook all the time, right? That can’t be healthy.”

“Oh and you know what is healthy for me? Please! When is the last time you and that idiot you are seeing had an actual conversation? You know healthy?”

“Okay I can see that this is going south very quickly. Do you want to fight with me? Really? Aren’t you tired of fighting?”

Deep sigh “Yeah yeah you’re right I was picking a fight. I’m just so mad … or sad … or lonely … or hell I don’t know what I am.”

“I know, I know but you will get through this I promise you will.”

“I don’t know if I will. I love him more now than I ever have. Why didn’t he call?”

Silence

“Well?”

“What? You want me to tell you why the guy you dated for eight months and let move in with you after three weeks who broke up with you two months ago didn’t call you today? Gee sweetie I don’t know if I can help you with that. Do you want to know what time it is? I can tell you what time it is, it’s 5:30 in the freaking morning on the only morning I have off from the early shift at the coffee shop, this I know.”

“Oh okay so now the truth comes out. I knew you’d always judged me for letting him move in with me. And for your information it was five weeks and six days ago AND I am fully aware of what time it is!”

“No I did not judge you. Well okay maybe a little but not judging really just concern. When you guys were still together after six months though, I changed my mind about all of it. I started to believe that you guys were in it for the long haul too, you know?”

“Yeah, well I was anyway. Why do you think a twenty-eight year old guy needs to ‘find himself’ anyway?”

“I don’t know, that never made any sense. Look I have to tell you something but you have to just let me talk without losing your mind. Can you do that for me?”

“Oh that’s a hell of a set-up, thanks a lot. What on earth? How am I supposed to respond to that?”

“Okay okay slow your roll. Hang on let me sit up.” Muffled sounds, sheets shifting, plumping of pillows, sound of the lamp clicking on “You there?”

“Yeah …”

“Okay I mean it, do not freak okay?”

“Fine GOD I won’t freak! What?”

“Well I saw him.”

Silence

“Hey, you still there?”

“Yeah I’m here…”

“Sweetie? Talk to me.”

“Where?”

“Uh okay wow what’s with the cold tone there? I am just trying to be a friend here.”

“Where did you see him?”

“Well at Max’s actually. I was there waiting for my paycheck and he came in.”

“When?”

“About three weeks ago. I didn’t talk to him or anything but …”

“But what? Why are you turning this into your own little drama? Why can’t you just tell me?”

“Okay don’t get upset okay? Promise?”

“No I don’t freaking promise! God just tell me.”

“He was with her sweetie. I’m so sorry so sorry so sorry but I just felt like you should know and I don’t want to hurt you worse or anything I just want you to….”

“Shut UP! God!” soft sobbing. “Why didn’t you tell me earlier?”

“Because I didn’t want you to be hurt any more than you were. I was afraid to tell you at first because, well let’s face it, you weren’t in a good place emotionally and you …”

“You’re supposed to be my best friend right? Right?!”

“I AM your best friend don’t you dare start that shit!”

“Okay so you’re my best friend and you see my boyfriend …”

“EX boyfriend!”

“FINE oh my god fine, my EX boyfriend with his ex girlfriend and you don’t think this is important information to share with me? Really?”

“Well, yeah actually. Because I am your best friend I decided that it would be better if I didn’t tell you.”

“So then why are you telling me now? What is this some big goddamn intervention now? You’re going to save me from myself?”

“Uh wow really? Well no or maybe yes a little bit. Yeah fine then, it is an intervention of sorts now that you bring that word into the conversation. You have to stop obsessing over this relationship because it’s over and you have to move on.”

“Don’t tell me when it’s time for me to move on. You aren’t me and you can’t know that so don’t act all high and mighty and make me out to be some nutso stalker ex girlfriend who refuses to let go.”

Soft chuckle “Okay I won’t”

“Do not laugh at me. I am serious.” Soft sigh

“Oh Sweetie I’m not laughing at you. I was just laughing at the thought of you being a stalker ex-girlfriend.”

“Well I’m not!”

“I know I know but you are hanging onto this pipe dream that things are going to work out and you’re going to get back together and it scares me a little to be honest.”

“Look, my love for him is pure and lasting and real. You know as well as I do that it was serendipity. We were meant to be, just look how we met?”

“What are you talking about? He just helped you pick up your groceries when the handle broke on your bag? How is that destiny or whatever you said?”

“Make fun if you want but it was very romantic, like in the movies.”

“Oh my god! Are you listening to yourself? You sound like a fifteen year old girl!”

“Well I’m sorry if you don’t believe in love at first sight or soul mates or whatever but I do and I love him and I believe that he loves me and….”

“Oh STOP I can’t take this any more seriously you make me want to take a poke at you with this crap! IF he loves you so much why is he with her?”

“He’s confused, that’s all. I’m going to wait for him. I love him enough to wait for him to realize that we belong together. I love him and we are meant to be.”

“Sweetie? Do you really want to do that? Just wait while he does whatever he does? You are willing to give up your life or any future with anyone else for him?”

“Yeah … yeah I am. That’s what real love is you know. Being willing to sacrifice your own happiness for someone else.”

“I don’t know about all that now. Maybe in the movies that’s the way it is but …”

“But what? What but?”

“Well okay BUT Ms. Never Let’s a Girl Finish what I was going to say was BUT in real life it doesn’t always work out that way.”

“Whatever.”

“Okay whatever”

“Do you hate him?”

“No, no I don’t hate him Sweetie don’t think that. I hate him with you. I keep telling you.”

“Okay but I’m having some trouble seeing the distinction.”

“Well that is because you’re thinking with your heart and not your head. Did you ever see that movie with Robert Redford and Barbra Streisand? What is the name umm…”

“What the hell are you talking about? You’re comparing our relationship to some old like sixties movie?”

“No no I think it was seventies anyway wasn’t it?” ’The Way We Were’! Yeah I knew it would come to me!”

“Okay fine” deadpan voice

“Don’t be like that, let me explain okay?”

Silence

“Hey! Okay?”

“Fine, explain” still deadpan

“Okay so they met when they were in college right and they were in love. Now I know you didn’t meet in college but you were in college at least but anyway that’s not the point. The point is that they fell head over heels in love and they got married and everything was really good and they were like the best couple ever because they were so different but they still worked and they were so in love and they fought like really hard and …” sigh “Okay wait I’ve lost track of my thoughts. Okay now I have the thread again, here is my point. They got a divorce. They still loved each other Sweetie but they got a divorce because they were bad together.”

“I fail to see the comparison.” Mumbling derisively

“Yeah you fail to see it because you’re a stubborn ass!”

“Oh NICE! Here my heart is breaking and my BEST FRIEND calls me an ass.”

“Oh my god you are such a drama queen. Can you just shut your mouth for about fifteen seconds and open your mind?”

Silence

“Uh … hello?”

“Is my fifteen seconds up?”

“Oh man sometimes I want to kill you”

Stifled giggling … both sides.

“Yeah well … ditto. I hate you.”

“Yeah?” softly “I hate you more.”

“Okay so I still don’t get what a movie from the fifties has to do with my relationship.”

“I love you right?”

“Yeah whatever I know that, so?”

“I like him too, I know you don’t believe that but I really do.”

“I just don’t like you and him together. You guys might be each other’s soul-mates like you said or whatever but together you don’t work, at least not for me.”

“WELL THEN I guess it’s a good thing we’re not in a polygamy or whatever that’s called then because what you think isn’t all that important in the larger scheme of things now is it?”

“Well, yeah I guess you’re right. Look I’m just trying to tell you how I feel, that’s all.”

Soft sigh “I know”

“You do?”

“Yeah”

“So what are you going to do now? Since he didn’t call on your birthday like you thought he would?”

Muffled sounds, shifting “Mhftmhaltcrub”

“What? What? Sweetie say that again I didn’t hear you.”

“Oh okay sorry. Well don’t get upset or anything okay?”

“Oh boy … okay what are you going to do?”

“I texted him.”

“WHAT?! WHEN?!”

“While you were telling that extremely long boring story about those old people from the nineteen forties.”

“GOD! It was not the forties! Or maybe it was I don’t know but you didn’t even listen to me, that’s kind of the point right?”

“I told him I had found some stuff of his and that he has to come get it.”

“Oh, I thought you packed everything up right after he left and dropped it at his friend’s house.”

“I did.”

“So … what do you have?”

“Uh nothing.”

“You’re crazy you know right?”

“Yeah, crazy in love.”

“I don’t know what to say.”

“Well don’t say anything now, wait until later.”

“Well … sure okay I will but why? What’s later?”

“He’s here.”

“WHAT?!”

“Yeah he just pulled up outside. I have to go.”

“Oh Sweetie. This is such a mistake.”

“Maybe, but it’s my mistake to make right?”

“Yeah, you’re right.”

“You love me no matter what right?”

“No matter what.”

“Call you later?”

“You’d BETTER call me the second he leaves!”

“Well if this works he won’t be leaving now will he?”

“Oh god, don’t get your hopes up okay? Please?”

“No no I’m good but I really have to go I hear him on the stairs.”

“Okay okay I love you! Good luck!”

Click

This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Serendipity

  1. Mary Jo says:

    OMG, that was good. Where is chapter two??? WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!!! ahhhh!!!!

  2. Debbie Miget says:

    Ok, yes you have to write more. I need to know what happens next. WOW!!!

  3. Nancy says:

    Don’t stop now – so did he stay??? That is fantastic Mary!! I knew you were talented but this leaves me speechless.
    \

Leave a Reply

